Awards & Scholarships


  • George Gaumond Award (Deadline: February 12)
    Application Guidelines
  • H. W. Wilson Foundation Travel Awards (Deadline: September 1, February 12)
    Provides funds for travel to those MLIS students involved in activities related to the profession.
    Application Guidelines


  • New for FALL 2019: Two $1,000 Merryll Penson MLIS Scholarships (Deadline: April 21)
    The Department of Library and Information Studies in the Dewar College of Education and Human Services is excited to announce two new $1,000 Merryll Penson Scholarships for the fall 2019 semester. Mary Penson is the retired Executive Director of Libary Services in the Office of Instructional and Information Technology in the University System of Georgia. These scholarships are made possibly by many generous donations made in honor of Merryll Penson on the Occasion of her retirement from the University System on Georgia. Application for these scholarships are due April 21. Application Guidelines
  • Baker Family MLIS Scholarship (Deadline: February 12)
    $1,000 scholarship available to students currently enrolled in the VSU MLIS program with at least a 3.0 GPA. Preferential consideration will be given to students from the counties including and contiguous to Lowndes County, Georgia (Lowndes, Brooks, Cook, Berrien, Lanier, Echols). If no students from the preferred counties apply for the Baker Family Scholarship, then applications from students who reside within the State of Georgia will be considered. Application Guidelines
  • H. W. Wilson Foundation Scholarship (Deadline: February 12)
    Available to students currently enrolled in the VSU MLIS program who show proven progress toward the MLIS degree. Application Guidelines

  • VSU MLIS Merit Scholarship (Deadline for Spring: December 1, Deadline for Summer-Fall; February 12)
    Available to students currently enrolled in the VSU MLIS program who show proven progress toward the MLIS degree.Application Guidelines

  • Georgia Library Association Scholarships
    (Beard Scholarship - $1000 award)
    (Hubbard Scholarship - $3000 award)
    Both scholarships use the same application form:

  • The Jeannette Rankin Foundation Grant Program
    $2000 award for low-income women, 35 years and older, pursuing a college education.
    Application information and form:

  • The Roger K. Summit Scholarship
    $5000 award for applicant who has demonstrated outstanding interest or performance in electronic information services.
    Application Information:

  • Financial Assistance for Library & Information Studies Directory (FALIS):
    An annual directory of awards from state library agencies, national and state library associations, local libraries, academic institutions, and foundations who give some form of financial assistance for undergraduate and/or graduate education programs in library and information studies.

  • American Library Association Scholarships:
  • The American Association of Law Librarians Scholarship Committee 
    Several scholarships available to assist individuals in becoming a law librarian. 
    Application information:
  • Medical Library Association Scholarship 
    $5000 for a person entering an MLIS program or who has yet to finish one-half of the program.
    Application Information:

  • McKnight Doctoral Fellowships
    Up to 25 fellowships awarded annually, applicants must be African American U.S. citizens. 
    Application Information:

Honor Societies

Valdosta State University was inducted as the Beta Beta Mu (ΒΒΜ) chapter of Beta Phi Mu (ΒΦΜ), the library and information honor society in June 2008. ΒΦΜ offers a number of scholarships for beginning and advanced students as well as post-graduate librarians (see below).

New members are chosen by the MLIS faculty from among VSU MLIS graduating students. For more information about the honor society, visit