Employee Technology Training

In collaboration with Employee & Organizational Development, we offer training sessions to help you effectively use the technologies available at VSU. Classes are free to VSU employees, including student employees and graduate assistants.

Register for workshops at: www.valdosta.edu/training

15 participants max; 3 participants minimum to conduct training; otherwise canceled one day prior.
Dates, times, and location subject to change.
Additional training may be offered throughout the semester.
Currently, sessions are conducted in-person at Odum Library Room 2633 unless indicated as virtual through Microsoft Teams.


2021 Fall Workshops:

Cascade Part 1 - 10am-Noon

The Cascade Basic class is required for those who are assigned to edit their departmental web site. This training can also serve as a 'refresher' for those who already have access. Training topics include:

Login, Dashboard, Sites, Asset Tree
Create, Edit, Publish, Live, Unpublish, Delete
Assets: Pages, Images, Files, Folders
My Content: Recent, Drafts, Locks, Workflows

  • Tuesday, August 17
  • *Thursday, August 26 (Online) 11am-1pm
  • *Friday, August 27 (Online) 8am-10am
  • Tuesday, September 7
  • Tuesday, October 5
  • Tuesday, November 9
  • Additional sessions may be offered

Cascade Part 2 - 1pm-3pm

This optional training picks up where Cascade Basic left off and introduces web editing features such as: embedded video, _info page, modules, forms, and more. The training is intended for those who already have rights to edit their college or departmental website. Prerequisite: Cascade Basic.

  • Thursday, August 19
  • Wednesday, September 15
  • Thursday, October 14
  • Tuesday, November 16
  • Additional sessions may be offered

WordPress

An optional web editor offered to VSU employees and official student organizations who wish to create individual, purpose-driven blogs/websites.

  • Thursday, August 26, 1pm-3pm
  • Thursday, September 22, 10am-12pm
  • Tuesday, October 26, 1pm-3pm (Odum 3270)
  • Thursday, November 18, 10am-12pm

Microsoft Teams

Learn how to schedule and conduct virtual meetings, post chats and more. Workshop held virtually via Teams. No limit on participants.

  • Tuesday, August 10, 10am-11:30am
  • Wednesday, August 11, 1:30pm-3pm
  • Tuesday, September 14, 10am–11:30am
  • Tuesday, October 19, 1pm–2:30pm

Microsoft OneDrive

Learn how to manage your cloud storage, create, and share files.

  • Wednesday, August 18, 1:30pm-2:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 1, 10am-11am

Microsoft Excel Series -10am-11:30am

Expand your Excel spreadsheet knowledge at whatever level you are at:

  • Intro: Data Entry, Navigation, Format, & Sort
    Friday, August 20
    Wednesday, August 25

  • Formulas & Functions:
    Friday, August 27
    Thursday, September 16

  • Charts:
    Friday, September 3
    Wednesday, September 29

  • Pivot Tables:
    Friday, September 10
    Wednesday, October 13

Microsoft Outlook/365 Tips

Become more productive in your daily tasks: organize your mailbox, create shortcuts, collaborate and more.

  • Thursday, September 9, 10am-11am
  • Thursday, September 23, 2pm-3pm
  • Thursday, October 7, 10am-11am