2013 Epsilon Pi Annual Meeting and Induction Ceremony

The Annual Meeting and Induction ceremony on March 28, 2013 was an overwhelming success with more than 100 attendees from the Valdosta area.  Forty-two new members were inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International including 38 BSN students, 3 MSN students and one community nurse leader.  Laura Carter, MSN, Assistant Professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences presented the keynote address, “Physical Activity – Does It Promote Success in Nursing School?”  Much to the relief of our hardworking BSN students, her findings were that physical activity did not influence academic success.  Many of the chapter activities during the 2012-2013 academic year were summarized by Mr. James Holland, Vice-President.  These include initiation of a twice-a-year undergraduate scholarship award.  Finally, new Board members were installed during the meeting by out-going President, Dr. Melissa Benton.  New faces on the Epsilon Pi Board for 2013-2014 include Ms. Denise Sauls, Secretary, and Dr. Rebecca Green, President-Elect.  The outgoing Board thanks all members for their support during the past 2 years.  We look forward to seeing you at next year’s meeting. 



New BSN Inductees

Epsilon Pi 2013 Inductees

2013-2014 Epsilon Pi Board Members

2013-2014 Epsilon Pi Board Members

(left to right) Ms. Gayle Taylor, Dr. Rebecca Green, Ms. Denise Sauls, Ms. Molly Seals, Mr. Stephen Shirlock, Dr. Brenda Dyal, Mr. James Holland, Ms. Laura Carter, and Ms. Darlene Pirkle