Paying It Forward Application (Apply Now) 

This academic scholarship, established by the “Paying It Forward” Committee and Dr. Shirley H. Hardin, encourages academic excellence, service to others, and a trailblazing spirit of success!  Opened to all AFAM Minors (sophomores, juniors, seniors) who have completed at least three Africana Studies classes, 3000 level and above, and first year graduate students who have completed the AFAM Minor, this endowed fund will award one or two successful applicants at least $500 to be paid directly to VSU for tuition and fees. Please visit the AFAM Website for the complete application.   The Application Deadline is MARCH 8, 2024. 

VSU Students, Faculty and Staff Members, the Valdosta/Lowndes County Community, and other friends, please help me to “Pay It Forward” to Valdosta State University’s Africana Studies Program. If I, Dr. Shirley H. Hardin, or any members of the VSU Family/Community have ever done anything to enrich and encourage your academic pursuits, NOW is your opportunity to help “Pay It Forward” to someone else who needs the encouragement to succeed.

Below are the instructions for giving to the Paying It Forward Scholarship

1. Click on this VSU Web Address below:

2.  Fill out all the personal information required, as much as you feel comfortable sharing.

3.  Click the drop down box for designation and select "Other". Designate your contribution to Dr. Shirley H. Hardin "Paying It Forward" Scholarship Fund_# 20026

4.  Don't forget to note the "Fund # 20026".

5.  You may submit your pledge/donation online and indicate form of payment.

 Any amount will be appreciated, and remember that your donation will be tax deductible.   Thank you for helping me, along with the PIF Committee, to “Pay It Forward” in 2020. 

Shirley H. Hardin

For more information feel free to contact us at or by calling the AFAM Office at (229) 249-4843.


VSU Dr. Shirley Hardin Paying It Forward Past and Present Scholars

1 Genesis Betancourt 2021 Pschology
2 Valencia Holcomb 2021 Political Science
3 DeAndra Dobbs 2022 Spanish
4 Shemar Asberry-Holliday 2022 Interdisciplinary Studies
5 Brittany Palmore 2024 Sociology & Anthropology