Claydon Hayward Barron Application (Apply Now) 

Established by the family of Mr. Claydon H. Barron (1942 -2001), this endowed scholarship will serve to honor the memory of a devoted husband (Mary Barron), father (Lawanna Barron), humanitarian, and business entrepreneur. Mr. Barron, a native of Valdosta, Georgia, was a member of one of the first classes to graduate from Pinevale High School and was the first African American appointed to the Valdosta City Board of Education, serving ten years. A master businessman, Mr. Barron founded the Azalea City Bail Bonding Company, the Azalea City Limousine Service, and the Barron’s Insurance Agency. One of his many accomplishments that brought him great satisfaction was his affiliation with the Smooth Ashlar Grand Lodge York Rite Masons. The National Grand Lodge bestowed upon him the 33rd Degree Masonry. This scholarship continues to encourage the tradition of a respectable work ethic, perseverance and academic excellence.

Scholarship Amount and Method of Payment:
The successful applicant will receive $750.00 or more to be paid directly to the college or university for tuition and fees. This scholarship is not automatically renewable. The Barron Family, the Office of Africana Studies and the Advisory Selection Committee will declare a recipient or no more than two recipients each academic year through the submission of applications. 

Applicants must be Africana (AFAM) Minors who have demonstrated academic excellence and continuous progress within the Africana Studies discipline area at VSU. The recipient must also be a full time VSU student enrolled as a sophomore, junior, senior or first year graduate student.

Please submit the following: Application form, official VSU transcript, one letter of recommendation from a university professor from whom you have taken a class, a recent photograph (for publicity purposes), and an ESSAY of 300-500 words describing: How a college education will enable (or has enabled) you to contribute to society and especially give back to the community that has supported you.

All materials should be submitted by FRIDAY, MARCH 8, 2024, no later than 5:00 pm

For further information, please call 229-249-4843 or come by the AFAM Office located at 1107 Nevins Hall, Valdosta State University.

Scholarship established: February 2002. Scholarship endowed: June 2011



No. Recipient Year Major
1 Tanica Trenase Boyd 2003 Biology
2 Javonda Denise Stanley 2003 Psychology
3 Tierra Shawnte Daniels 2004 Marketing
4 Lisa Elaine Hamilton 2004 Psychology


Calle Machelle Fielden 2005 Psychology
6 William Stephen Foster 2005 Psychology
7 Gala Patrice Goodwin 2005 Mass Media
8 Rafiah Amirah Jenkins 2006 Mass Media
9 Stephanie Alexis Palmer 2006 Political Science
10 Leroy Henderson 2006 General Studies
11 Antawn Jermaine Harvey 2007 General Studies
12 Michael Santell Jackson 2008 Political Science
13 John Lawrence 2008 Criminal Justice
14 Yalanda Jackson 2009 Education
15 Ashley Nicole Carter 2009 Management
16 Karimah Nailea Anderson 2010 Interior Design
17 Frank D. Moore 2011 Criminal Justice
18 Erica Renee Vinson 2011 Psychology
19 Jeremy Chase Hardin 2012 Mass Media
20 Omotayo A. Ikuesan 2012 English
21 Ryan B. Brinson 2013 Exercise Physiology
22 Hassanat Oshodi 2013 Mass Media
23 Veatrice Harper 2014 Interdisciplinary Studies
24 Brianna Tresha Matchett 2014 Interdisciplinary Studies
25 Y'Keisha Marie Knowles 2015 Biology
26 Roxanne Lee Davis 2015 Sociology & Anthropology
27 Shaneisa Latronika Lewis 2016 Interdisciplinary Studies
28 Sabrina Deidre Romain 2016 History
29 Tynisha Bledsoe 2017 Nursing
30 Jacobe Love 2017 Mass Media
31 Caitlyn Destiny Smith 2018 Social Work
32 Courtney Dominque Smith 2018 Accounting
33 Tiana A.Larmond 2019 Dance and Mass Media
34 Mar'Quaysha Shamari Richardson 2019 Communication
35 Vasettria Sharnese Williams 2020 Marriage/Family Therapy
36 Quonnisha Veronica Orr 2020 Business Administration
37 Tiana Hansley 2021 Health Science
38 Valencia Holcomb 2021 Political Science
39 Randall Pace 2022 Computer Science
40 Shemar Asberry-Holliday 2022 Interdisciplinary Studies
41 Brittany Palmore 2024 Sociology & Anthropology
42 Chiamaka Nwigwe 2024 Political Science
43 Da'jah Champagne 2024 Secondary Education



JUNE 27, 2011

Signing 1

Signing 2

Signing 4

Signing 5

Signing 6