September 27, 2016

Jessica Pope
Communications and Media Relations Coordinator

AAUW Hosts General Election Candidate Forum Oct. 4

VALDOSTA — The Valdosta branch of the American Association of University Women will host a moderated candidate forum from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 4, at Valdosta State University’s Powell Hall Auditorium. This event is open to the public and designed to encourage voters to learn more about the candidates and their views on various community issues.

Dr. Linda Pysher Jurczak, assistant professor in VSU’s Department of Communication Arts, will serve as moderator throughout the evening.

Candidates from contested races will have an opportunity to appear on stage with their opponent, make a two-minute opening statement, respond to questions posed by voters in attendance, and offer a one-minute closing statement.

Candidates whose opponents are not present at the forum, as well as candidates who are running unopposed, will be able to make a statement and answer questions within time limits.    

The Valdosta branch of the AAUW has invited the following candidates to participate in the forum:

• County Commission Chairman: Republican Bill Slaughter
• County Commissioner District 1: Democrat Joyce Evans
• County Commissioner District 5: Republican Clay Griner and Democrat Teresa K. Moffitt
• Clerk of Superior Court: Republican Beth Copeland Greene
• Coroner: Democrat Brad Carter and Republican Austin Fiveash
• Sheriff: Democrat Ashley Paulk and Republican Chris Prine
• Tax Commissioner: Republican Rodney Cain and Democrat Felicia F. Williams
• Tax Assessor Post 1: Democrat W.G. Walker
• Tax Assessor Post 2: Democrat Mike Hill
• Tax Assessor Post 3: Democrat Leroy Butler Jr.
• Solicitor General: Republican Justin Cabral and Democrat Jason Cain

The AAUW’s political forums were initiated by Dr. Jo Ann Hartman, an educator and association member who served on the Valdosta City Council from 1980 to 1984. These forums are dedicated in memory of Virginia Branan, a VSU alumna and educator who worked with Hartman and the AAUW to make these events both successful and a valued part of the association’s service to the South Georgia region.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8. The last day to register to vote in the upcoming general election is Tuesday, Oct. 11. Early voting begins Monday, Oct. 17, with Saturday voting scheduled on Oct. 29. 

Powell Hall is located on the Georgia Avenue side of VSU’s Main Campus. Parking is available in the Conference Lot and neighboring gravel lots across the street from the building. Volunteers will be outside to help guide attendees.

Dr. Beatriz Potter, a faculty member in VSU’s Department of Modern and Classical Languages, is president of the Valdosta branch of the AAUW. She may be reached at for more information.

Dr. Martha A. Leake, a faculty member in VSU’s Department of Physics, Astronomy, and Geosciences, is co-chairwoman of the Valdosta branch of the AAUW’s Candidate Forum Committee. She may be reached at for more information.

On the Web:  

Note: The use of Valdosta State University’s facilities for this event does not constitute an endorsement by the university. The views of those invited to speak on campus are the views of the speaker and not of the university. VSU does not endorse or oppose any candidate or organization in connection with this or any other political campaign or election.