August 11, 2014

VSU Celebrates Faculty and Staff Excellence

VSU President William J. McKinney, left, and Provost Hudson P. Rogers, far right, with faculty and staff excellence award recipients following the 2014 Fall Convocation on Aug. 11. Pictured from left with their awards David Williams, Sonya Sanderson, Anita Ondrusek, Gina Doepker, Maren Clegg-Hyer, Ryan Hogan, Timothy Yorkey, and Neal Culbreth. (Award winner Maura Schlairet not pictured)

VALDOSTA—The Valdosta State University community recognized six faculty and three staff members for their exemplary professional contributions during the 2014 Fall Convocation, Aug. 11.

Faculty Excellence Awards: 

Dr. Maren Clegg-Hyer, Department of English, Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
Dr. Gina Doepker, Department of Early Childhood and Special Education, Faculty Excellence in Service Award
Dr. David Williams, Department of History, Faculty Excellence in Professional Activity Award
Dr. Sonya Sanderson, Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education, Faculty Excellence in Advising Award
Dr. Maura Schlairet, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL) Award (VSU nominee to USG award)
Dr. Anita Ondrusek, Department of Library and Information Studies, Teaching Excellence Award for Online Teaching (VSU nominee to USG award)

Staff Excellence Awards: 

Timothy Yorkey, Human Resources and Employee and Organizational Development

Neal Culbreth, Student Financial Services 
Ryan Hogan, Admissions