April 12, 2013

Jessica Pope
Communications and Media Relations Coordinator

VSU Music Students Embrace Chamber Style of Playing

VALDOSTA — Valdosta State University will host a Chamber Winds performance at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, April 15, in Whitehead Auditorium. The concert is open to the public and free of charge.

“The program will have great variety,” said Joe H. Brashier, director of bands at VSU and professor of music. “The music tends to be on the traditional side in terms of harmony, melody, and structure. The audience should find it relaxing to listen to and may even catch their feet tapping to the music.”

Conducted by Brashier, the 21-member Chamber Winds is a premier group open to all university students through competitive auditions only. It stresses a one-player-per-part concept and performs literature of the highest level.

“The students have enthusiastically embraced the chamber music approach this semester,” he said. “It really stretches the younger performers, but they all seem to enjoy developing their skills in this medium.”

The Chamber Winds will perform six works. The evening concert will conclude with Caroline Hatchett, a graduate student studying voice, reciting a series of poems by Edith Sitwell over instrumental accompaniment composed by William Walton, also known as “Façade: An Entertainment.”

Whitehead Auditorium is located on the first floor of VSU’s Fine Arts Building, on the corner of Brookwood Drive and Oak Street.

Contact Joe H. Brashier at (229) 333-5809 or jhbrashi@valdosta.edu to learn more.

On the Web:


Chamber Winds Personnel

• Joe H. Brashier (conductor), Cayla Gillette (graduate assistant), Karlee Norton (flute), Asayla Everett (flute), Garry Urbina (oboe), Chelsea Slagor (oboe), John Pope (bassoon), Alexa Luper (clarinet), Sarah Cain (clarinet), Landan Frazier (alto saxophone), Teal Ewer (trumpet), Brian Summerlin (trumpet), Sage Khan (trumpet), Eduardo Machado (trumpet), Cecelia Stevens (horn), Kristen Johns (horn), Zach Jones (trombone), Daniel Raybon (euphonium), Curtis Thornton (tuba), Billy Robinson (tuba), Dylan Sloan (percussion), Nancy Davis (percussion), Alex Paul (cello)