April 9, 2013

Jessica Pope
Communications and Media Relations Coordinator

VSU Hosts a Night of Chamber Jazz April 14

VALDOSTA — Valdosta State University’s Department of Music will host a night of Chamber Jazz at 7:30 p.m. on Sunday, April 14, in Whitehead Auditorium. The event is free and open to the public.

Four Student Jazz Combos comprised of four to six players — The Ironics, directed by Tod Leavitt; Fat Bag of Chips, directed by Paul Campiglia; Logik, directed by Joren Cain; and the VSU Jazz Sextet, directed by David Springfield — will perform material from the traditional and contemporary jazz repertoire. The program features music by such artists as John Coltrane, Joe Henderson, McCoy Tyner, and Herbie Hancock, as well as a piece by a member of the VSU Jazz Sextet, Fernando Chavez.

Whitehead Auditorium is located on the first floor of VSU’s Fine Arts Building, on the corner of Oak Street and Brookwood Drive. The concert is part of the Department of Music’s celebration of Jazz Appreciation Month.

Designed by the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of American History and supported by the United States Congress, Jazz Appreciation Month, recognized each April, “is intended to draw public attention to the glories of jazz as both a historical and living treasure.” This year’s theme is “The Spirit and Rhythms of Jazz.”

Contact David Springfield, director of VSU’s Jazz Studies Program, at (229) 333-5805 or daspring@valdosta.edu to learn more.

On the Web:



Student Jazz Combos

• The Ironics: Tod Leavitt (director), Ranon Herman (trombone), Brian Mathis (piano), Jared McLeroy (bass), and Johnathan Thomas (drums)

• Fat Bag of Chips: Paul Campiglia (director), Rodney Singleton (alto saxophone), Brennan Short (tenor saxophone), Joshua Rivers (piano), Dan Ledee (bass), and Leslie Smith (drums)

• Logik: Joren Cain (director), Sage Khan (trumpet), Nick Johnson (alto saxophone), Michael Foster (guitar), Courtney Allen (piano), John Tyler (bass), and Anthony Bussey (drums)

• VSU Jazz Sextet: David Springfield (director), Fernando Chavez (alto saxophone), Tyrone Tarplin (vibraphone), John Neely (guitar), Jessica Holmes (piano), Trent Harper (bass), and Travis King (drums)