April 18, 2013

Jessica Pope
Communications and Media Relations Coordinator

VSU Concert Band Performs April 23 on the Whitehead Stage

VALDOSTA — Valdosta State University’s 63-member Concert Band will perform at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 23, in Whitehead Auditorium. The concert is open to the public and free of charge.

“The Concert Band plays two concerts every spring semester, and this is our final performance of this semester,” Eric E. Bradshaw, conductor and director of athletic bands at VSU, said. “The program includes a wide variety of band music and several short solos from students in the ensemble.”

The Concert Band is open to all university students — regardless of academic major — who participated in their high school concert band. A brief audition is held at the beginning of the semester to determine seating order and part assignment.

Contact Eric E. Bradshaw at eebradsh@valdosta.edu to learn more.

On the Web


Concert Band Personnel

• Piccolo — Theresa Griffith

• Flute — Rosemary Bennett, Nico Hunter, Morris Bagley, Randi Harper, Courtney Wingfield, Giandra Watts, Chardonne Mack

• Oboe — Crystal Askew

• Bassoon — Samuelle Drain

• Clarinet — Curtis Finch, Kaylee Yocum, Anna Marie Schaer, Jennifer Sheppard, Joani Coleman, Elicia Fricke, Shaundon Moore

• Bass Clarinet — Danielle Dugan

• Alto Saxophone — Mario Thompson, Larry Brooks

• Tenor Saxophone — Domonique Houston

• Baritone Saxophone — Rodney Singleton

• Trumpet — Deborahlea Smith, Alexander Washington, Darrian Johnson, Brittany Loftin, Evan Rentz, Andrew Sutton, Mark Braswell, Christopher Ward, Jordan Beasley, John Dial

• Horn — Taylor York, Nicholas Cannady

• Trombone — Justin Long, Josh Watford, Chandler Hill, Ranon Herman, Melshondra Hopkins, Rico McKee

• Bass Trombone — Devin Driskell

• Euphonium — David Sanders, Jerome Horne, Evan Dixon, Jeremy Johns, Landis Johnson, Kendrick Henderson

• Tuba — Jean-Marcel Scutt, Greg Kulkosky, Dontevian Toler, Rodney Brown, Mickey Montgomery

• Percussion — Brandon Bradwell, Kevin Byington, Chad Capers, Kristen Hall, Kaitlyn Jones, Matthew Lieberman, Legregis Purnell, Ryan Ryke, Leslie Smith, Johnathan Thomas, Jasmine Truitt

• Piano Accompanist — Maila Springfield