October 25, 2012

Jessica Pope
Communications and Media Relations Coordinator

Presidential Brass Quintet Among Ensembles Performing Oct. 29 at VSU

VALDOSTA — The brass ensembles at Valdosta State University will perform for the community at 7:30 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 29. Admission is free of charge.

The concert will feature Department of Music students from the Presidential Brass Quintet and Sonorous Brass Quintet, as well as the Brass Area’s Trumpet Ensemble, Horn Ensemble, Trombone Ensemble, and Euphonium/Tuba Ensemble performing 14 pieces of music. Composers include Paul Dukas, John Cheetham, Ernst Toch, John Stevens, Andreas Hammerschmidt, Manuela Penella, Alfredo da Rocha Viana Filho, J.S. Bach, Bill Reichenbach, John Schooley, Eric Ewazen, Giovanni Gabrieli, Orlando di Lasso, and Evan Rentz. 

Dr. Kristen M. Johns, associate professor of music, said, “This performance will offer a very wide variety of pieces — from the Renaissance to modern day — written for various combinations of brass instruments.”

The event will be held in Whitehead Auditorium, on the first floor of the Fine Arts Building, which is located at the intersection of Brookwood Drive and Oak Street.

The Department of Music presents over 200 musical performances for the public each year and is a fully accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music. It boasts a faculty of active performers, scholars, conductors, clinicians, and adjudicators throughout the region.

On the Web:



Brass Faculty: Kenneth Kirk, trumpet; Eduardo Farias, trumpet, graduate assistant; Kristen Johns, horn; Doug Farwell, trombone; Daniel Rowland, euphonium/tuba; Eric Bradshaw, tuba

Presidential Brass Quintet: Sage Khan, trumpet; Blake Rothermel, trumpet; Brian Summerlin, trumpet; Cecelia Stevens, horn; Chandler Hill, trombone; Billy Robinson, tuba

Sonorous Brass Quintet: Eduardo Farias, trumpet; Kyle Lanzillo, trumpet; Marissa Bull, horn; Justin Long, trombone; Gregory Kulkosky, tuba

Trumpets: Jordan Beasley of Kingsland; Teal Ewer of Moultrie; Eduardo Farias of Porto Alegre, Brazil; Edward Jackson of Pelham; Darrian Johnson of Macon; Sage Khan of Valdosta; Kyle Lanzillo of Marietta; Brittany Loftin of Waycross; Matthew Mainella of Cromwell, Conn.; Evan Rentz of Bainbridge; Blake Rothermel of Fleming Island, Fla.; Brian Summerlin of Lumber City; Andrew Sutton of Dublin; Christopher Ward of Valdosta; Alexander Washington of Savannah; Joy Yates of Valdosta

Horns: Marissa Bull of Lakeland; Cecelia Stevens of Winder; Taylor York of Chattanooga, Tenn.

Trombones: Chandler Hill of Adel; Ranon Herman of Johns Creek; Jacob Johnson of Warner Robins; Justin Long of Rincon; Joshua Watford of Americus; Austin Williamson of Moultrie; Devin Driskell of Warner Robins; Zachary Jones of Waycross

Euphoniums: Evan Dizon of Valdosta; Jerome Horne of Alpharetta; Daniel Raybon of Valdosta; David Sanders of Madison, Fla.; Daniel Sherrod, Richmond Hill

Tubas: Gregory Kulkosky of Bonaire; Billy Robinson of Warner Robins; Jean-Marcel Scutt of Fayetteville; Curtis Thornton of Lakeland