University Welcomes New Faculty

July 31, 2012

Sara Lynn McCall Graduate Assistant

University Welcomes New Faculty

VALDOSTA -- Valdosta State University welcomes more than 40 new faculty members to campus. The new faculty members will participate in various orientation sessions beginning Aug. 1. Throughout the sessions faculty members will become familiar with the university’s technology system, registration and advising, and overall campus structure. Below is a list of VSU’s new faculty:

College of Arts
Art: Kalina Winska and Tommy Crane

Communication Arts:
Sarah Arnett, Christopher Bailey, Ruth Brandvik, Gregory Brown, Jason Brown, Talley Mulligan, Colin Walker, and Karl Wildman

College of Arts & Sciences
Biology: Dr. Cy Mott

Chemistry: Dr. Giso Abadi

English: Dr. Jacob Jewusiak

Math & Computer Science: Dr. Shaun Ault

Marriage & Family Therapy: Lana Kim

Modern & Classical Languages: Adolfo Carrillo Cabello, Sandra Kregar, and Grazyna Walczak

Physics, Astronomy & Geosciences: Dr. Dereth Drake

Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice: Dr. Lorna Alvarez-Rivera and Dr. Roger McIntyre

Langdale College of Business Administration
Accounting & Finance: Candace Witherspoon

Management: Roy Copeland

Marketing and Economics Department: Gary Futrell and Timothy Komarek

Dewar College of Education
Communication Sciences & Disorders: Matthew Carter

Curriculum, Leadership, & Technology: Dr. Danielle Alsandor, Dr. Steven Downey, Dr. Herbert Fiester, Dr. Anthony Scheffler, and Dr. Ernest Smith

Early Childhood & Special Education: Carolyn Gish and Shaunita Strozier

Kinesiology & Physical Education: Dr. Matthew Grant and Dr. James Jordan

Middle, Secondary, Reading, and Deaf Education: Dr. Makini Beck, Dr. Jeffrey Cox, and Christia Williams

Psychology & Counseling: Dr. Jackson Rainer

Odum Library
Dr. Debra Slone

College of Nursing
Tamara Dennis, Heidi Gonzalez, and Rebecca Green

Division of Social Work
Libby Bickers

Off-Campus and Partner Programs
Dr. Joseph Weaver