Alpha Chi Induction Ceremony to be held Tonight

April 24, 2012

Alpha Chi Induction Ceremony to be held Tonight

VALDOSTA -- Fifty-seven Valdosta State University students will be inducted into the Georgia Alpha chapter of the Alpha Chi National Honor Society tonight during a recognition ceremony in the University Center Theater at 7 p.m.

Membership in Alpha Chi is one of the highest academic honors that can be bestowed upon a student at VSU, and is restricted to juniors and seniors who rank within the highest ten percent of their respective classes. The Georgia Alpha chapter at VSU, founded in 1958, was the first chapter of Alpha Chi to be established within the state of Georgia. Current chapter officers are Chelsie Norton (President), Hilary Lee (Vice President), and Brittany Briscoe (Secretary-Treasurer). Dr. Kenneth Rumstay of the Department of Physics, Astronomy, and Geosciences serves as Faculty Sponsor; the Assistant Faculty Sponsor is Dr. Fleming L. Bell of the Department of Modern and Classical Languages.

The induction ceremony will begin with the swearing-in of Dr. Louis H. Levy, VSU’s Interim President, as an honorary member of Alpha Chi. This honor recognizes the tremendous support that Levy has provided to Alpha Chi during his tenure as Provost and as Interim President. The students listed below will then each be sworn in as new members. A brief reception will follow the ceremony.

Bolanle Olayinka Babajide-Gbenga
Nicole Chapman
Hannah L. Bessinger
Raven Nicole Boyd
Jonathan Russell Brock
Marie Danielle Browne
Stephanie Leigh Byington
Foster B. Cain
Emma Patricia Carey
Elizabeth Carol Carter
Siedah Janell Cassell
James M. Combs
Amy Dandron
Whitney Daniel
Felina Bordeaux Duncan
Joshua Daniel Edwards
Joseph Epperson
Candice D. Madrid-Erwin
Bianca Stephania Farley
Crystal J. Floyd
Kaylyn Fowler
Ivan Lee Furtado
Brittany Fuzia
Sarah Maria Garnes
Alicia Danielle Gilmore
Camille Gonzalez-Acevedo
Benjamin T. Harper
Sadie Kristin Hatcher
Melissa Hedger
Whitney L. Holland
Patricia F. Horn
David Marcel Jenkins
Morgan Johnson
Ashlee Diana Lynn
Mariah McDaniel
Kendyl Leigh McLendon
Sabrina McNeil
Brayton Lea Meyer
Courtney Mitchell
Robin Meredith Morgan
Gabrielle A. O'Berry
Samantha Jo Perkins
Eboni L. Poindexter
Kaitlyn Veronica Reagan
Matthew Thomas Rivera
Jessi C. Rush
Megan Schoenberger
Ana Shalësi
J. Jay Sharpe
Jennifer Rose Stakich
Ariel Elizabeth Stearnes
Dallas Albert Suttles
Kalli Mercedes Thornton
Molly N. Waters
Charles E. Watts, Jr.
Rachael LeAnn Whitmer
Jasmine C. Williams