Valdosta Symphony Orchestra Concerts this Spring

February 7, 2011

Valdosta Symphony Orchestra Concerts this Spring

VALDOSTA -- The Valdosta Symphony Orchestra will perform a series of three concerts this spring that will showcase a range of orchestral works -- from melodic representations of the planets and themes from "Star Trek" to pastoral works and harmonious illustrations of the afterlife. Subscription concerts III and IV will be held at 8 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 12, and April 30 in Whitehead Auditorium. Special Concert No. 2 will be held at 8 p.m. on March 26 and at 3 p.m. on March 27 in Whitehead.

Subscription Concert III: Brilliant Beethoven

Friday, Feb. 12, at 8 p.m.

Whitehead Auditorium

Subscription Concert III will lead off with Ludwig van Beethoven’s "Creatures of Prometheus Overture," a ballet composed in 1801. Featured Soloist Amy Schwartz Moretti will beguile the audience with her feverish bowing of "Violin Concerto" in D major, which Beethoven wrote in 1806 for Franz Clement, a leading violinist of the day. The concert will conclude with "Symphony No. 6" in F major, also known as the Pastoral Symphony, which breaks from standard symphonic form with five movements rather than four.

Special Concert No. 2: Out of This World

Saturday, March 26, at 8 p.m.; Sunday, March 27, at 3 p.m.

Whitehead Auditorium

“Out of this World” is an exploration of the senses with the exuberant minimalism of “Short Ride in a Fast Machine,” written by American composer John Coolidge Adams. The Symphony will then transition into performing classic tunes from "Star Trek," then follow with a seven-movement orchestral suite “The Planets,” composed by Englishman Gustav Holst. Each movement of the suite is named for a planet of the Solar System. As the music unfolds, NASA footage will be shown in the background.

Subscription Concert IV: Magical Mahler

Saturday, April 30, at 8 p.m.

Whitehead Auditorium

The final concert of the 2010-11 season will feature one of Gustav Mahler’s most popular and successful works -- "Symphony No. 2," also known as the Resurrection. Written between 1888 and 1894, the work conveys Mahler’s lifelong view of the beauty of the afterlife. Soprano soloist Dr. Tamara Hardesty and mezzo soprano soloist Janine Hawley will perform along with the VSU Chamber Singers and The Valdosta Symphony Orchestra Chorus.

For more information about the VSO and upcoming concerts, go to or call the ticket office at 229-333-2150. Connect with the symphony on Facebook at