Cadets Recognized for Outstanding Accomplishments

May 17, 2010

Cadets Recognized for Outstanding Accomplishments

VALDOSTA -- Cadets in Valdosta State University's Air Force ROTC were recently honored by university and detachment administration, as well as local and national organizations, for their outstanding accomplishments in both academic and leadership settings.

Detachment 172's top honors -- the Theresa Cunningham Ironwoman Award and the Manny Hauck Ironman Award -- were bestowed upon cadets Elizabeth Jovanovich and Tyler Moore. Named for two of VSU's most accomplished AFROTC graduates, the award is given annually to the female and male cadets who score highest on the physical fitness assessments.

Although many cadets were recognized nationally, cadets George Kelley, Dennis Gardner and Christopher Lee were each chosen by their peers as the Cadets of the Semester for demonstrating outstanding physical and academic abilities as well as outstanding leadership skills.

During the awards ceremony, Cadet Lee formally took command over the 104 cadets in detachment 172. Guests also bid farewell to the 16 members of the 2010 senior class and Lt. Col. Alan Elledge, who has served as detachment commander for three years.

The mission of Air Force ROTC is to develop future leaders for tomorrow's Air Force. The program is open to all accredited majors and scholarships are available. Program graduates receive knowledge, leadership skills and quality education before entering the Air Force as an officer. For more information on VSU’s Air Force ROTC program and Detachment 172, visit or contact Capt. Kim Peters, at (229) 333-5954.

See below for a full list of awards.

National Awards
National Defense Industrial Association Award
Anthony Anderson

Military Officers Association Award
Tyler Moore

Veterans of Foreign Wars Award
John Hitsos

American Legion General Military Excellence Awards
Jonathan Murtaugh (AS 100)
Mandela Littleton (AS 200)
Christopher Lee (AS 300)
Elizabeth Jovanovich (AS 400)

American Legion Scholastic Awards
Michael McColister (AS 100)
Ira Collier (AS 200)
**Kevin Sheehan (AS 300)
Andrew Watters (AS 400)

Scottish Rite Southern Jurisdiction Award
Craig Black

Air Force Association
Dustin Vicent

National Sojourners Award
Nicholas Sternitzky

Daughters of Founders and Patriots of America Award
Nathan Entsminger

Military Order of the Purple Heart
**Kevin Sheehan

Sons of the American Revolution
Paul Stephens

American Veterans Award
John Phifer

Order of Daedalians "Gator Flight" Outstanding Pilot Candidate of the Year
Dustin Vicent

USAA Spirit Award
**William Poole

Military Order of World Wars
Candace Brown (AS 100)
Robert Shannahan (AS 200)
Sean Taluman (AS 300)

Reserve Officers Association
Latashia Douglas (AS 200)
**Dennis Gardner (AS 300)
Anthony Anderson (AS400)

Society of the War of 1812
**Robert Hudspeth

Airlift and Tanker Association Scholarship
Ryan Bush

Detachment Awards
Theresa Cunningham Ironwoman Award
Elizabeth Jovanovich

Manny Hauch Ironman Award
Tyler Moore

Honor Flight Ribbon
Papa Flight

Warrior Flight Ribbon
November Flight

Most Outstanding IMT Cadet of the Semester
George Kelley

Most Outstanding FTP Cadet of the Semester
Dennis Gardner

Most Outstanding POC of the Semester
Christopher Lee

Anthony Anderson, Spanish major, assigned to, assigned to Eielson AFB, Alaska as a logistics readiness officer

Joshua Drawdy, business management major, assigned to Whiting Field NAS, Fla. as a pilot

William Edge, criminal justice major, assigned to Arnold AFB, Tenn. as an acquisitions officer

Jamil Martin, health and physical education major, assigned to Goodfellow AFB, Texas as an intelligence officer

Jeromy McElwaney, geography major, assigned to Columbus AFB, Miss. as a pilot

Jonathon Posada, criminal justice major, assigned to Vandenberg AFB, Calif. to broaden his career in acquisitions with training in space and missiles

David Wilburn, psychology major, assigned to Hanscom AFB, Mass. as an acquisitions officer

Lauren Fisher, criminal justice major, assigned to Goodfellow AFB, Texas as an intelligence officer

Lauren Haschle, criminal justice major, assigned to Tyndall AFB, Fla. as an air battle manager

Andy Watters, business management major, assigned to Sheppard AFB, Texas as a Pilot (Euro-Nato Joint Jet Pilot Training)

Jeffrey Harrell, a graduate student studying secondary education, assigned to Pensacola NAS, Fla. as a navigator

Steven Clark, political science major, assigned to Vance AFB, Okla. as a pilot

Elizabeth Jovanovich, business management major, assigned to Dyess AFB, Texas as a medical services corps officer

**Christopher Walker, professional aeronautics major, assigned to TBD as an aircraft maintenance officer

**Daniel Spiecher, professional aeronautics, assigned to Buckley AFB, Colo. as a space and missile officer

**William Poole, Professional Aeronautics major, assigned to Pensacola NAS, Fla. as a navigator

**Represents students participating in VSU's Crosstown Schools program with Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University or Park University. More information is available at .