May 17, 2010

College of Education Honors Top Students

VALDOSTA -- The dedicated students who ranked highest in their programs were recently recognized for their achievements by Valdosta State University's Dewar College of Education.

These students have achieved academic success and displayed a commitment to professional development and personal excellence. See the list below for the names of award winners:

Dewar College of Education Outstanding Student Award
Jonathan Koenigsfeld

Outstanding Achievement Awards (Undergraduate)

Adult and Career Education
Outstanding Undergraduate Award for Technical, Trade and Industrial Education
Allen David Ben-Harush

Outstanding Business Education Student Teacher
Marci N. Garner

Outstanding Undergraduate in Business Education
Nyeasha N. Carter

Outstanding Student in the Office Administration and Technology Degree Program
Jacquelyn Hardin

Outstanding Student in Technical Studies
Amy Marie Braswell-Walden

National Business Education Association 2010 Award of Merit
Outstanding Student In Business Education

Johnna M. Lee

Art Education
Outstanding Art Education Student Teacher
Byron Howell

Communication Sciences and Disorders
Most Outstanding Clinician
Rachel Cortellino

Most Outstanding Undergraduate Student
Leigh Dunn Hamm

Most Outstanding Student Teacher of the Year
Margaret A. Carroll

Early Childhood and Special Education
Outstanding Early Childhood Undergrad
Suzanna DeMersseman

Outstanding Early Childhood Student Teacher
Amy Carter

Outstanding General Curriculum Student Teacher
Brittany Henderson

Work Sample/Capstone Project
Ty Sutz

Outstanding Early Childhood Application of Technology Student Teacher
Rachel Carroll

Outstanding Early Childhood Involvement of Families and Communities
Jessica McCrillis

Kinesiology and Physical Education
Outstanding Senior Athletic Training
Michael Lowery

Outstanding Senior Award
Merritt G. Williams II

Outstanding Student Teacher for Health and Physical Education
Darius Dennard

Outstanding Health and Physical Education Student Teacher
Caleb Graham

Outstanding Senior Health and Physical Education
Lindsey Nicole Pittman

Middle, Secondary, Reading and Deaf Education
Outstanding Student Teacher
Stacy Vanover

Outstanding Student Teacher
Johnnie L. Marshall Jr.

American Sign Language/Interpreting
Monique D. McCrary

Modern and Classical Languages
Outstanding Foreign Language Education Student Teacher
Sydney Earley

Music Education
Outstanding Music Education Student Teacher
Kimberly D. Tucker

Psychology and Counseling
Outstanding Bachelor of Science in Psychology Student Award
Timothy R. Malone

Outstanding Bachelor of Arts in Psychology Student Award
Jessica L. Edenfield

Outstanding School Counseling Student
Katie Dorsey

Office Administration and Technology
Jacquelyn E. Hardin

Outstanding Achievement Awards (Graduate)

Adult and Career Education
Outstanding Master’s Student for Adult and Career Education
Sarah G. Brinson

Outstanding Doctoral Student for Adult and Career Education
Alexa Csinos

Communication Sciences and Disorders
Most Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year
Kari Dawn Hodges

Curriculum, Leadership and Technology
Most Outstanding Doctoral Student for Curriculum and Leadership
Mary Ann Hand

Most Outstanding Specialist Student Award: Instructional Technology
Mica Brooks

Most Outstanding Specialist Action Research Award
Kimberly Creagh

Most Outstanding Masters Student: Technology Applications
Emmelyn Johnson

Most Outstanding Doctoral Student for Educational Leadership
Dr. April L. Strevig

Most Outstanding Masters Student Award: Library Media
Elissa Tomlinson

Most Outstanding Specialist Student Award: Educational Leadership
Natalie Slice

Most Outstanding Masters Student: Higher Education Leadership
Lindsey Lloyd

Early Childhood and Special Education
Outstanding Graduate Student
Jamie Yates

Middle Grades, Secondary, Reading and Deaf Education
Outstanding Student in the Alternative Certification for Teachers Cohort Program
Matthew Cribbs

Outstanding Student in the Master's of Arts of Teaching Cohort Program
Emily Bass

Psychology and Counseling
Outstanding M.S. in Industrial-Organizational Psychology Student Award
Christine A. Lefiles

Outstanding M.S. in Clinical- Counseling Psychology Student Award
Mary Hilgeman

Outstanding Student- School Psychology Education Specialist
Jeanne H. Crews

Manelle Jeter Scholarship
Jamie Yates

Matti H. Dewar Scholarship
Dorothy McDougal

Jim and Mary Threatte Scholarship
Leigh Dunn Hamm, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Valdosta Junior Service League Scholarship
Alyssa Jacobson, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Deserving Student Scholarship
Tammy S. Leavell

Saralyn Sammons Scholarship and Catherine Hensley McDonald Scholarships
Constance Kitchens

Ola M. Brown Scholarship
Dee Kachra

Vicky Lynne Foshee Scholarship
Candace Lawson

Sonny Martin Scholarship
Tyler Anderson

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698