November 30, 2009

VSO Releases Second Anniversary Poster Saturday

VALDOSTA -- At its upcoming concert, Saturday, Dec. 5, the Valdosta Symphony Orchestra (VSO) will release the next in a series of five poster and program covers created as part of a contest hosted in honor of the group's 20th anniversary season.

The piece will be revealed at the 8 p.m. concert where the orchestra will present "The Human Voice" with guest soloist, Tamara Hardesty. The accomplished vocalist will perform Mozart's "Exsultate, Jubilate" and the soprano solo in Mahler's Fourth Symphony.

Created by VSU alum Lace Hegwood, Saturday's featured poster titled, "Piano," was inspired by Wassily Wassilyevich Kandinsky, a Russion painter and art theorist who is credited with the creation of modern abstract art. Hegwood, a cum laude graduate from fall 2007, said she hoped to create a parallel between color and piano melodies.

Hegwood's piece, along with four others, was chosen from more than 140 contest submissions. Angela Marafino, Tristan Paul, Lacey Hegwood, Kathy Herring and Richard B. Estes were each awarded $500 for their winning submissions.

A new winning poster will be released at each show during the anniversary season. The VSO will have 100 limited edition posters signed by the artist and conductor for sale following each release. The first, created by graphic designer Tristan Paul, was released at the Oct. 3 orchestra presentation.

Upcoming shows:

FEB. 13. Subscription Concert No. 2. “Native Son.” International superstar violinist and Macon native Robert McDuffie joins the VSO in February to perform Tchaikovsky’s passionate Violin Concerto. “Mozart’s quicksilver Overture to the ‘Marriage of Figaro’ is sometimes referred to as the ‘egg-timer’ overture -- once the overture is done, so is your egg.” Also scheduled: Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony. 

Featured artist: Angela Marafino

MARCH 27. Subscription Concert No. 3. “Spirit.” Stunning virtuoso cellist Wendy Warner performs Elgar’s Cello Concerto with the VSO. Jonathan Bailey Holland’s “Motor City Dance Mix,” premiered by the Detroit Symphony, is “an exciting new work featuring the brass and percussion sections of the orchestra.” Also scheduled: Stravinsky’s 1919 “Firebird Suite.” 

Featured artist: Cathy Herring

MAY 1. Subscription Concert No. 4. “Musical Colors.” The entire VSO is featured in works by the masters of the orchestra: the world-changing Wagner, the innovative and unpredictable Berlioz, and uncompromising yet lyrical Brahms. A season-closing orchestral tour-de-force by the VSO. Wagner’s “Tannhauser Overture,” Berlioz’s “Hungarian March,” Brahms’ Second Symphony. 

Featured artist: Richard Estes


Where: Season tickets may be purchased by calling VSU College of the Arts Outreach, 333-2150; or visit .

Cost: Season tickets are $75, and include all five concerts, a savings of $25. Individual concert tickets are $20 each.

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698