Students Honored for Academic Achievement

May 8, 2009

Students Honored for Academic Achievement

VALDOSTA--Valdosta State University honored its best and brightest students during the 2009 Academic Honors Dinner on May 7, in the University Center. The awards represented the university’s top honors and are indicative of the student’s intelligence, effort, hard work and determination.

Patrick John Taylor received the Annie Powe Hopper Award, considered the university’s highest academic award named in honor of Miss Hopper, the first dean of women. The Marga and Mac Awards were presented to Catherine Morrow and Cory Bryan, respectively. Sigma Alpha Chi Honor Society, the university’s oldest honor society, gives both awards to the most outstanding man and woman in the senior class.

The following students were recipients of the university’s academic awards:

Amy Adamson--Outstanding Senior Nursing Student
Cory A. Bryan--Alpha Lambda Delta Marie Leonard Senior Book Award and Mac Award
Jon Koeningsfeld--Outstanding Male Athlete
Maegan Moore--Outstanding College of Arts Award
Sara Alice Moye--Clare Phillips Martin Scholarship
Catherine Morrow--Marga Award
Kara Mullen--Master of Library and Information Science George Gaumond Award
Christopher Nish--The Bartram Award for Intellectual Exploration
Brett Rogers-- University System of Georgia Academic Recognition Day Award
Saletha Brenetha Smith--American Association of University Women Award
Sarah Bowen Smith-- Dewar College of Education Highest Academic Achievement
Patrick John Taylor-- Outstanding Student in Arts and Sciences and Annie Powe Hopper Award
Daniel Thomas Woodson--Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award
Michelle Thompson--Outstanding Female Athlete
Andrew Watters--Most Outstanding Aerospace Studies Cadet