PAAC Honors Mayor John Fretti; Distinguished Graduates

April 28, 2009

PAAC Honors Mayor John Fretti; Distinguished Graduates

VALDOSTA - Mayor John Fretti received the Loyce W. Turner Award for Public Service at Valdosta State University's Public Administration Advisory Committee luncheon Tuesday, April 14, in University Center Executive Dining Room.

Named for former senator Loyce W. Turner, the annual award is presented to a local public servant who clearly represents Jeffersonian ideals of an ethical, committed and effective public official, and serves as a role model for those just beginning careers in public service. He has shown leadership through participation on many local boards, including the Valdosta-Lowndes Chamber of Commerce, the Greater Lowndes Planning Commission, the Valdosta Rotary Club, Lowndes Youth Leadership League, Valdosta Rotary Club and many others.

Mayor of Valdosta since January 2004, Fretti is serving his second term through 2011. His presence has be instrumental in many city initiatives related to improving services for disabled citizens, strengthening industry and economic development, increasing opportunities for art enrichment and recreation, and much more.

Joining a list of accomplished past recipients, such as Parker Greene and Richard Royal, Fretti said that the university makes an impact on his community efforts.

“Valdosta State University has and will continue to have a major impact on my approach to the job of public service through their academic endeavors and how they continue to be a model community partner,” Mayor Fretti said. “I am honored to be added to the distinguished list of past recipients of this award, many of whom are city and community leaders and fellow public servants."

Shannon McGee, associate director of Auxiliary Services at VSU, and student Shelley Milton, were honored as the 2009 Hugh C. Bailey Distinguished Graduates for their excellence in VSU's Master of Public Administration program and service to their own communities. Both award winners were chose by the PAAC because they have proven to be excellent students, positive influences in their positions and great public administrators of the future.