April 24, 2009

VSU Announces 2009 Orientation Leaders

VALDOSTA - The Office of Orientation & Leadership Development has selected thirty-six students to serve as orientation leaders at Valdosta State University.

Orientation leaders assist first-year and transfer students during the transition to life at Valdosta State. Orientation leaders play an integral role in the orientation program by helping new students successfully navigate their first semester on campus; participating with new students in all orientation activities; being an enthusiastic and positive role models; distributing important information in a timely manner; and providing assistance in the advising and registration process for new students.

Orientation leaders are selected based on their participation on campus, grade point average, leadership and communication skills, and interest in representing Valdosta State University.

Students selected for the 2009 orientation team include:

Brandie Allen, Alondra Anderson, Candace Atchison, David Auguste, Taylor Austin, Desiree Baker, Paul Blackburn, Stephanie Bullard, Monique Byrd, Britney Chappell, Ashley Cole, Erika Crawford, Lavisa Darling, Kayneeka Gibbs, Taneshala Hall, Amaris Hawkins, Ross Hegenwald, Datonia Hughes, Kyle Jonas, Keith Jones, Sakeena Leben-Yearwood, Blake Lowery, Johnnie Marshall, Katisha Mathis, Michael McKerson, Blakely Merritt, Sade Miller, Martiez Moore, Cassandra Murphy, Jessica Nelson, Peggy Peterson, Justin Phillips, Christine Sciota, Anna Sirmons and Jessica Smith.

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698