January 16, 2009

ODK Honorary Reconstituted at VSU

VALDOSTA - Valdosta State University inducted 38 students into the newly reconstituted leadership honorary Omicron Delta Kappa at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 13.

Approximately 1,800 students were candidates because academically they were in top 35 percent of juniors, seniors and graduate students at VSU. Those inducted this week completed the official requirements after being selected from the 200 students who applied for official consideration and 62 who were accepted.

The organization focuses on academic excellence and leadership in one or more areas, including scholarship, athletics, performing arts, communications arts and campus or community service. Selection criteria for the group considered academic excellence, uniqueness of overall contributions to the VSU community, and outstanding achievement in two or more of the previously mentioned areas. Those chosen are all full-time students at VSU who present exemplary character and have achieved a record of responsible service and leadership.

Dr. Kurt Keppler, vice president for Student Affairs, said ODK will be a great addition to the VSU community because its member base will feature strong, well rounded individuals who have already excelled in service, leadership and the classroom.

"ODK members inherently have an interested in leadership and will work together with their advisors to recruit additional student leaders into this outstanding national leadership honor society," Keppler said. "We are also excited about "tapping" faculty and staff who were members of ODK during their college experiences."

The first order of business will be to elect officers. A second induction will be held in February or March for a new group of students and the first staff inductee, Gala Jackson, who will serve as an assistant advisor. Students will participate in teambuilding workshops and other forms of leadership development, including a trip to VSU's ropes course. Future projects will reach out to the local community through service.

Inductees included:
Brandi Allyce Allen
Xavier Alexander Allen
Kathryn Lynnell Beasley
Brittany Nichole Bellamy
Ashlie M. Braswell
Bethany E. Brett
Catherine Blair Brown
Monique Patrice Byrd
Jessica Lynn Curtis
Megan Elizabeth DeWitt
Heather NiCole Dooley
Nakita Dziegielewski
Erika Dawn Faulkner
Ashley Marie Hartt
Ashley Lee Hull
Mary Elizabeth Kennedy
Tatiana Nicole Lee
Danielle Lenman
Kyle Thomas Lineberry
Brittany Faith Lotito
Jarryd Jamar Mitchell
Maegan Larae Moore
Sara A. Moye
Cassandra Elizabeth Murphy
Kohle Paul
Shannon Lyn Portwood
J.W. Prosser
Sara Elizabeth Schroeter
Laura Ashley Rogers
Hailey Susan Sisk
Jeffrey Tamusza
Patrick J. Taylor
Tike Monique Traylor
Lauren Ashley Walter
Danyell Warner
Kaci Loran West
Kathryn Lee West
Sean M. White

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698