April 18, 2006

Charles Harmon Director of University Relations, Sementha Mathews Manager of Public Information and Media Relations

VSU students and organizations receive leadership awards

Valdosta State University's Division of Student Affairs hosted its annual Student Leadership Awards Ceremony on April 9, 2006. The ceremony recognized the following students and organizations that represent exemplary leadership:

Blazer Leadership - Katie Abarr
Senior Student Leaders of the Year - Jason Adams and Diana Hansard
Contribution to Members - Alpha Phi Alpha
Contribution to Campus - Alpha Delta Pi
Contribution to Community - SIFE (Students in Free Enterprise)
Outstanding Organization of the Year - Phi Mu

The Spectator newspaper announced their annual award winners at the event:

Best Reporter - Shrika Williams
Spectator Best Staff Member - Brandon Powers
Spectator Most Valuable Staff Member - Kerry Laster

LeaderQuest, a program designed to give students appropriate leadership opportunities that correspond with their collegiate experience, awarded the following:

Certificate of Recognition to Existing Leaders: Ana Malone, Anthony Swygert, Brandi Gardner, Cates Payne, Christopher Beecham, Kimberly Waters, Krissy Cassarino, Sean McCulley, Patrick Eastlake, Octavia Meyers, and Anna Byrne
Certificate of Recognition to Experienced Leaders: Ashley Williamson, Caragh Lynch, CJ Mock, Sal Ahmad, and Jason Adams
LeaderQuest Outstanding Student Support Specialist Awards: Richard MacLaughlin, Kanan Simpson, Jonathan Bryant, Amelia Harmon, Michael Santas, Gabrielle Roberts, and Mark Vernon.

Information Technology also presented awards to its Outstanding Information Technology Student Support Specialists:

Systems Support - Jonathan Bryant
Network Services - Kanan Simpson
Information Technology Helpdesk - Gabrielle Roberts
Information Technology Service Center - Richard MacLaughlin
Audio Visual/ Event Support - Mark Vernon
Web Services - Amelia Harmon
Desktop Management - Michael Santas

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698