April 15, 2005

Charles Harmon Director of University Relations, Terrance Calloway Student Assistant

VSU Faculty Elected to Serve Georgia�s Academy of Sciences

Several Valdosta State University faculty members have been elected to leadership positions in Georgia Academy of Sciences.

During a Georgia Academy of Sciences annual meeting, recently held in Atlanta, several VSU faculty members were elected to positions within the academy. Dr. Mitch Lockhart of the VSU Biology department was elected treasurer for the academy, Dr. John Barbas of the Chemistry department was elected secretary of chemistry division of the academy, Dr. Dave Bechler of the VSU Biology department was elected to be the councilor for the biology section, Dr. Andreas Lazari of the VSU Mathematics and Computer Science department was elected secretary of the Mathematics section, and Dr. Thomas Manning of the Chemistry department was elected President-Elect of the academy.

"It is a privilege to be elected as President-Elect of the academy," said Manning. "I hope to continue in science, education, and industrial relations to the benefit of the state of Georgia, its students, and its citizens."

The Georgia Academy of Sciences holds an annual scientific meeting that typically features more than one hundred presentations from scientists, faculty, and students from Georgia's universities and colleges. The academy has sections in Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, Physics, Math, Computer Science, Engineering & Technology, Biomedical Sciences, Philosophy & History of Science, and Science Education and Anthropology.

More information on the academy can be found at www.gaacademy.org

  • General VSU Information
  • 229.333.5800
  • Office of Communications
  • 229.333.2163
  • 229.333.5983
  • Campus Address
    Office of Communications Powell Hall West, Suite 1120
  • Mailing Address
    1500 N. Patterson St.
    Valdosta, GA 31698