Valdosta State University News Now

November 30, 2000

Valdosta State University News Now

Student brown bag presentation

The Chemistry Department is hosting a student brown bag presentation on Tuesday, Dec. 5 from 12:15 to 1:15 p.m., in West Hall room 150. Derek Lovingood, Tice Umberger and Stacy Strickland will present "An Expedition Down the Suwannee River: Scientific Studies from the Okeefenokee Swamp to the Gulf of Mexico." Bring a sack lunch and learn about the exciting research being conducted by VSU students. For more information, contact Dr. James LaPlant at 333-5771.

Graduate School offers scholarships

VSU's Graduate School will award several Opportunity Grant Scholarships, from the University System of Georgia Board of Regents. The scholarships are available for graduate students during spring semester 2001. The purpose of these scholarships is to assist economically disadvantaged students who are pursuing graduate degrees. Scholarships are awarded based upon both need and merit. Each scholarship will provide the recipient $833 for spring semester.

In order to qualify for one of these scholarships, applicants must be residents of the state of Georgia accepted and enrolled full time as graduate students and have completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). FAFSA forms are available from the graduate school offices and applications must be submitted by Dec. 29. For more information, contact the Graduate School at 333-5694.

Model United Nations Team competes in regional conference

Valdosta State University's Model United Nations team competed against more than 70 other teams at the Southern Regional Model United Nations conference held in Stone Mountain, Ga., just before Thanksgiving. VSU won first place award as "Outstanding Delegation," representing Germany and a third place "Honorable Mention," representing Afghanistan.

This is the fifth successive year that VSU has received either a first or second place award in the competition. The team is now preparing to represent the Democratic Republic of Congo at the National Model United Nations competition to be held in New York City in April 2001.

The Model United Nation team members are Monica Solyst, Irina McClellan, Tabitha Ogden, Paulina Napierala, Bahar Salimova, Ryan Springer, Azamat Bakineyev, Allison Cain, Latasha Burke, Kelli May, Sigridur Olafstottir, Svetlana Ivchenko and Jason Ekblaw.