Faculty and Staff

Dr. Byron K. Brown

Dr. Byron K. Brown

Professor, Literature & Language Adviser, English Department

University of Florida


Phone  229-249-4952
bbrown@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 233


Dr. David J. Buehrer

Professor, English Department

University of Delaware


Phone  229-249-4951
dbuehrer@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 234


Dr. Lee Campbell

Associate Professor, English Department

Purdue University


Phone  229-333-7351
jlcampbe@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 216


Dr. Richard Carpenter

Dr. Richard Carpenter

Associate Professor, English Department

University of Louisville


Phone  229-249-4949
racarpenter@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 105


Dr. Li-Mei Chen

Dr. Li-Mei Chen

Associate Professor, English Department

Ohio State University


Phone  229-333-7346
lchen@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 208


Dr. Maren Clegg-Hyer

Dr. Maren Clegg-Hyer

Associate Professor, English Department

University of Toronto


Phone  229-333-7347
mclegghyer@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 209


Dr. Kendric Coleman

Dr. Kendric Coleman

Associate Professor, English Department

Louisiana State University


Phone  229-333-7352
kecoleman@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 218


Dr. Michael J. Davey

Dr. Michael J. Davey

Associate Professor, English Department

Ohio State University


Phone  229-249-4950
mjdavey@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 235


Dr. Myrto Drizou

Dr. Myrto Drizou

Assistant Professor, English Department

State University of New York at Buffalo


Phone  229-333-7126
mdrizou@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 226


Dr. Darrell Fike

Dr. Darrell Fike

Professor, English Department

Florida State University


Phone  229-293-6262
dfike@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall # 2110


Dr. Ted Geltner

Dr. Ted Geltner

Assistant Professor, English Department

University of Florida


Phone  229-333-7343
tageltner@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 222


Dr. Sharon Gravett

Professor and Assistant V-P of Academic Affairs, English Department

Duke University


Phone  229-333-5950
sgravett@valdosta.edu
Nevins # 1060-A


Dr. Anne Greenfield

Assistant Professor, English Department

University of Denver


Phone  229-245-2208
algreenfield@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall # 2220


Dr. Deborah Hall

Dr. Deborah Hall

Associate Professor, English Department

Florida State University


Phone  229-333-7349
dehall@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 211


Dr. Shirley Hardin

Professor; Director African American Studies Program, English Department

Florida State University


Phone  229-249-4843
shardin@valdosta.edu
Nevins # 1107


Dr. Jacob Jewusiak

Dr. Jacob Jewusiak

Assistant Professor, English Department

Buffalo University


Phone  229-241-6894
jmjewusiak@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 236


Dr. Ubaraj Katawal

Dr. Ubaraj Katawal

Assistant Professor, English Department

SUNY at Binghamton


Phone  229-219-3193
ukatawal@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 214


Dr. Jane Kinney

Professor, English Department

Duke University


Phone  229-249-4953
jkinney@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 202


Dr. Patricia Miller

Professor, Journalism Adviser, English Department

University of Iowa


Phone  229-333-7353
pmiller@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 220


Dr. Chere Peguesse

Associate Professor and Director of Student Success Center, English Department

University of Arizona


Phone  229-333-7570
cpeguess@valdosta.edu
Langdale Hall - SSC


Dr. Donna Sewell

Professor, English Department

Florida State University


Phone  229-333-7336
dsewell@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 205


Dr. Mark Smith

Dr. Mark Smith

Professor and Department Head, Literature & Language and Professional Writing Adviser, English Department

University of Louisiana at Lafayette


Phone  229-333-5946
marksmit@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 210


Dr. Theresa Thompson

Dr. Theresa Thompson

Professor, English Department

Washington State University


Phone  229-333-7350
tthompson@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 212


Dr. Jeffrey Vasseur

Dr. Jeffrey Vasseur

Professor, English Department

University of Utah


Phone  229-333-7356
jvasseur@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall # 2218


Dr. Marty Williams

Professor, English Department; Creative Writing Advisor

University of Utah


Phone  229-333-7355
mlwillia@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 224


Susan Barron LaPlant

Susan Barron LaPlant

Senior Lecturer, English Department

MA
Florida Atlantic University

Phone  229-333-7342
sbarron@valdosta.edu
Ashley # 2212


Jennifer Betts Barfield

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-5911
jdbetts@valdosta.edu
Ashley # 2113


Sarah Dwyer

Sarah Dwyer

Lecturer, English Department

MA
University of Rochester

Phone  229-219-3283
smdwyer@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 223


Marilyn Dyke

Lecturer, English Department

MA
LeHigh University

MA
Jersey City University

Phone  229-333-7339
msdyke@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 215


Becky Gaskins

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-7344
ragaskin@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 225


Joel Harper

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-7388
jmharper@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 232


Karen Morris

Karen Morris

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-7345
kamorris@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 227


Roy Pace

Roy Pace

Senior Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-293-6298
rkpace@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 263


Gardner Rogers

Gardner Rogers

Lecturer, English Department

MA
University of Kentucky

Phone  229-333-7337
gjrogers@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 206


Kim Sale

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-5985
klsale@valdosta.edu
Ashley # 2208


Brian Ward

Brian Ward

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Florida State University

Phone  229-249-4954
brward@valdosta.edu
Ashley # 2206


Amy Warren

Amy Warren

Lecturer, English Department

MA
University of Nebraska

MPA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-5349
amywarren@valdosta.edu
Ashley # 2210


Barbara Warren

Barbara Warren

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-7338
bnwarren@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 201


Helen Wishart

Lecturer, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-249-4868
hawishar@valdosta.edu
Carswell # 3


Ed Braun

Ed Braun

Instructor, English Department

MA
Northwestern State University

Phone  229-245-2447
embraun@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 221


Renee Byrd

Instructor, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-249-2689
rcbyrd@valdosta.edu
Nevins Hall # 1113


Teresa Paliwoda

Instructor, English Department

MA
Florida State University

Phone  229-249-4842
tcpaliwoda@valdosta.edu
Carswell Hall # 2


Kristi Williams

Kristi Williams

Instructor, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-245-4356
klwillia@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 231


Cindy Montgomery

Part Time Instructor, English Department

M.P.H.
Ft. Valley State University

Phone  229-333-7121
cbmontgomery@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 219


Kiley Thompson

Part Time Instructor, English Department

MA
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-7121
kmthompson@valdosta.edu
West Hall # 219


Name Title Phone E-mail
Tiffany Conley Teaching Assistant tmconley@valdosta.edu
Hannah Holmes Teaching Assistant heholmes@valdosta.edu
Nick Palombo Teaching Assistant ngpalomb@valdosta.edu
Shannon Tyme Teaching Assistant estyme@valdosta.edu