Mandatory Fees and Waiver of Mandatory Fees
Section 704.021 of the University System of Georgia Board of Regents Policy Manual defines Mandatory student fees as fees which are paid by all students as required by the Board of Regents or as required by the institution subject to approval by the Board of Regents.
At Valdosta State University, proposals to increase mandatory student fees and proposals to create new mandatory student fees must first be entered in the University’s Strategic Planning database, receive the recommendation of the President and finally, receive approval from a campus committee composed of at least 50 percent students. Students are appointed by the institution's student government association. The Board of Regents approves or denies requests in the Spring (for a Fall effective date).
Detailed information about Valdosta State University’s mandatory fees for each semester, Fall 2013 through Summer 2014:
All students are charged the following mandatory fees each semester (fees are not subject to waiver), regardless of campus and/or online credit hours:
- Technology fee $48
- Access Card fee $10
- Institution fee $295 ($147.50 if 4 total hours or less)
Students who are registered for 4 or more credit hours on the main campus will be assessed:
- Student Activity fees $234
- Health fee $87
- Health Facility fee $40
- Athletic fee $121
- Transportation fee $20
- Parking facility fee $100
Beginning Fall 2013, the University will begin assessing prorated amounts for Athletics and Student Activity fees for enrollment below 4 credit hours. In addition, students who register for 1-3 hours on the main campus and additional off campus (to include online) hours, which put them at 4 or more total hours, will pay the full athletic fee and full student activity fee. Please note this only affects the Athletic and Student Activity fees. Click here to access the VSU email announcing this policy effective Fall 2013.
Student Activity fees: 1 hour, $5 / 2 hours, $10 / 3 hours, $15 / 4 or more hours, $234
Athletic fees: 1 hour, $13 / 2 hours, $26 ; 3 hours, $39 / 4 or more hours, $121
All fees are tentative and subject to change based on Board of Regents policy.
Waiver of Mandatory Fees
Section 704.021 of the University System of Georgia Board of Regents Policy Manual allows an institution to waive mandatory fees for students who are enrolled for fewer than six credit hours. The Office of Student Financial Services accepts waiver requests, verifies courses, and, processes a refund if approved.
At Valdosta State University, students are eligible for waiver of mandatory fees if they meet the following criteria: Students must study or reside at another institution and meet one of the following criteria:
- Students must be enrolled in a practicum (e.g. student teachers) or internships or externships located at least 50 miles from the institution. (These counties are included in the 50 mile radius: Atkinson, Berrien, Brooks, Charlton, Clinch, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Grady, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Mitchell, Thomas, Tift, Ware, Worth, Hamilton (FL), and Madison (FL). Students placed in these counties are NOT eligible for the waiver of fees, OR
- Students must be enrolled in distance-learning course or programs that are not also enrolled in on-campus course or residing on campus.
Once students meet the requirements and are eligible for waiver of mandatory fees, the student's professor should initiate the process by filling out the Waiver request form on the student’s behalf.
If you have any questions about the waiver of mandatory fees and you meet the eligibility requirements outlined above, please contact your professor. If you have any questions about mandatory fees in general, please contact Debra McCrary or 229-333-5725.