Valdosta State University 15th Annual Graduate Student

Research & Scholarship Symposium

Cover Symposium 2023 

 Friday, April 5th from 3:00 - 6:00 pm Student Union Ballrooms

3MT Competition and GA of the Year Award 3:00 pm - Student Union Theater

Poster Session, 4:00 - 6:00 pm Student Union Ballrooms A, B & C

Musical Performances 3:43 - 5:00 pm 

3MT and Poster Awards 5:30 pm




Nominate a Student

Students must be nominated by a faculty mentor to present in the Graduate Research Symposium.

  • Faculty mentors please nominate your students by filling out the Nomination FormContact Darli DeVane at for any questions.
  • The nomination deadline is February 16th.
  • Are you a graduate student seeking a nomination? Please speak with your academic advisor about presenting.

COMPETITION: Awards will be presented for the top Posters, 

                         3MT competitors, and GA of the Year.

Find Out More

The high quality of our students' research and/or scholarship has placed them on an elite list of graduate students nominated by faculty in their graduate programs to present posters or Three Minute Thesis (3MT™).  Click What is 3MT or the 3MT Handbook to find out more.  First held in 2009, the symposium is designed to showcase the outstanding research and/or scholarship being conducted by Valdosta State University Graduate Students and their Faculty mentors. The President of Valdosta State University and/or the Provost give opening remarks. Faculty, Department Heads, Deans, Graduate Students and guests have the opportunity to view posters and hear brief explanations of their research to learn about various projects occurring across campus. To review abstracts regarding student posters, click on the previous symposium links below.

                               Symposium 2023  Winners     


3MT Winner Tanisha Goldsbora 1st Place 3MT
2nd place 3MT 2023 Journey Perkins 2nd Place 3MT
3rd place 3MT 2023 Nashie Wesley 3rd Place 3MT
Peoples Choice 2023 Miracle Mgeahuruike People's Choice 3MT
1st place poster 2023 Nia O'Neal 1st Place Poster
2nd place poster 2023 Fidelle Hopper 2nd Place Poster
3rd place poster 2023 B. Cordell Moats 3rd Place Poster