The Hugh C. Bailey Family Scholarship

This endowed scholarship was created by Dr. Hugh C. Bailey, President of Valdosta State University from 1978 to 2001, to support academic excellence and achievement in every academic discipline through participation in the University Honors College. It was first awarded in 2006.

Bailey Scholarships applicants must

  • be full-time students who have been admitted to the Honors College and who have completed between 45 and 75 semester hours, including at least 10 semester hours in the VSU Honors Program

  • have a grade point average of at least 3.6 for all courses completed, including Honors courses taken at VSU

  • must exemplify the spirit of inquiry and service that characterizes the Honors College

Scholarships are awarded for one academic year. The number offered each year will vary with the earnings of the endowment fund. Recipients are selected by the Honors College Advisory Council. You can download your application here.

Hugh C. Bailey Family Scholarship Recipients


  • Mara Charles
  • Jake Croft
  • Elaine Krivsky


  • Jennifer Dandron

  • Chase Kelly


  • Laura Hanna

  • Danielle Jordan

  • Matthew Rivera

  • Jenny Smith


  • Kimberly Edwards

  • Kiana Lively

  • Chelsie Norton

  • Jennifer Stakich


  • Helen Burkett

  • Amy Dandron

  • Audrey Dowis

  • Megan Wood


  • Craig Black

  • Brandi Foster

  • Christopher Nish

  • Matthew Schmidt


  • Ashlie Braswell

  • Kristin Morrison

  • Jay Prosser

  • Danielle Sheffield


  • Samantha Lee

  • Jake Newsome

  • Scott Thurston II

  • Rebecca Thorn


  • Monica Chana

  • Lauren Hunter

  • Christina Huntley

  • Jessica Thomas

  • Keri Toggerson

  • Stephanie Zavalanos