urc-welcome.jpg

Welcome to Undergraduate Research Council

What is it:

The Undergraduate Research Council of Valdosta State University invites undergraduate students to showcase their research, scholarship, and creative activities to the VSU community at the Twentieth Annual Symposium on Undergraduate Research to be held on April 8-10, 2014. The purpose of the symposium is to provide students an opportunity to share research papers, laboratory experiments, field projects, creative performances, visual art works, or independent study projects completed or in-progress between Spring Semester 2013 and Spring Semester 2014.  Papers may be considered for publication in OMNINO, the VSU undergraduate research journal. 

2014 Undergraduate Research Symposium Program

2014 Undergraduate Research Symposium Abstract Booklet

How to participate:

Students must submit by email a one-page typed abstract (150 word limit) for a poster session, oral presentation, or creative performance/exhibition to their department or program representative. Directions and examples for the preparation of abstracts can be found at: http://www.valdosta.edu/urc/

Students are responsible for completing an electronic version of the student information form at http://studentinformationform.weebly.com/  This weblink will be active in early February 2014 for student submissions.

Council representatives will submit the abstracts from their respective departments or programs by email to the symposium coordinator, Dr. James LaPlant (jlaplant@valdosta.edu).  Council representatives should note if the abstract is for a poster session, oral paper presentation, or creative performance/exhibition.  Students will submit the student information form through the Undergraduate Research Council website.

Examples of abstracts:

Directions and examples for the preparation of abstracts can be found here.

Student Information Form:

Students are responsible for completing the student information form once the abstract is approved by a department or program:
http://studentinformationform.weebly.com/

Important Due Dates:

  • Abstracts to Department or Program Representatives: 2/21/14                                       
  • URC Representatives send Abstracts to the Symposium Coordinator and Students Complete the online Student Information Form: 2/28/14
  • Notification to Students Selected to Participate in the Symposium: 3/14/14
  • PDFs of Posters to Departmental or Program Representatives for Publication after the Symposium: 4/25/14    

Council Representatives for the Undergraduate Research Symposium for 2014:

African American Studies

Dr. Tom Aiello

taiello@valdosta.edu

Art

Dr. Glenda Swan

gmswan@valdosta.edu

Biology

Dr. Gretchen Bielmyer

gkbielmyer@valdosta.edu

Chemistry

Dr. Jenny Vu

jbvu@valdosta.edu

Communication Arts

Dr. Michael Eaves

meaves@valdosta.edu

Communication Sciences & Disorders

Dr. Jade Coston

jhcoston@valdosta.edu

Early Childhood & Special Education

Dr. Lucia Lu

lylu@valdosta.edu

English

Dr. Anne Greenfield

algreenfield@valdosta.edu

History

Dr. Mary Block

mblock@valdosta.edu

Honors College

Dr. Michael Savoie

mpsavoie@valdosta.edu

Kinesiology and Physical Education

Dr. Matthew Grant

matgrant@valdosta.edu

Langdale College of Business

Dr. Zulal Denaux

zsdenaux@valdosta.edu

Math & Computer Science

Dr. Jemal Mohammed-Awel

jmohammedawel@valdosta.edu

Middle, Secondary, Reading & Deaf Education

Dr. Robert Spires

rwspires@valdosta.edu

Modern and Classical Languages

Dr. Karen Acosta

karacosta@valdosta.edu

Nursing & Health Sciences

Dr. James Humphrey

jphumphr@valdosta.edu

Philosophy, Religious Studies & Native American Studies

Dr. Lavonna Lovern

llovern@valdosta.edu

Physics, Astronomy, Geosciences & Engineering Studies

Dr. Barry Hojjatie

bhojjati@valdosta.edu

Political Science

Dr. Marc Pufong

mpufong@valdosta.edu

Psychology

Dr. Jennifer Breneiser

jebreneiser@valdosta.edu

Sociology, Anthropology & Criminal Justice

Dr. Fred Knowles

feknowles@valdosta.edu

Women’s and Gender Studies

Dr. Tracy Woodard

tmeyers@valdosta.edu

Don’t see your department or program listed? Please contact Dr. James LaPlant (Associate Dean, Arts & Sciences) about opportunities to present at the symposium jlaplant@valdosta.edu

2012 Symposium on Undergraduate Research

Front cover of 2012 URC program

   Abstract of Undergraduate Symposium on Research

Cover image for 2013 undergraduate research symposium

April 1 & 2, 2013 Program (pdf)

April 1 & 2, 2013 Abstracts (pdf)