

FACULTY SENATE

Est. 1991

Debbie Paine President

Kelly Davidson Vice President/ President Elect Bobbie Ticknor Secretary Dee Ott Parliamentarian Eric Howington Past President

Minutes April 16, 2020, 3:30 pm University Center Magnolia Room THIS MEETING WAS CANCELLED DUE TO THE MANDATES IN RESPONSE TO THE COVID-19 VIRUS. ITEM 8 WAS THE ONLY ITEM COMPLETED VIA QUALTRICS BALLOT.

Items in **bold print** are items that require action by the Faculty Senate. Other items are for information only.

Special Request: At the request of the Senate's Executive Committee (<u>fsec@valdosta.edu</u>), any actions sent to the President (<u>dgpaine@valdosta.edu</u>) for possible inclusion in the Senate agenda should be accompanied by a written document with the rationale and purpose of the decision. The Executive Committee requests that these documents be submitted via email as a Word.doc attachment(s).

For the benefit of record keeping, we ask that senators and visitors please identify themselves when speaking to an issue during the meeting. Please use the microphones to assist with accurate recording. <u>All senators must sign the roster in order to be counted present. If you have a senator's proxy</u>, please place their name tag beside your name tag on the table in front of you.

- 1. Call to Order Debbie Paine
- 2. <u>Reading of proxies</u> obtained prior to the meeting; Request additional proxies for those not given from Senators in attendance Bobbie Ticknor.

Note: Please send an email to Bobbie Ticknor (<u>bbticknor@valdosta.edu</u>) regarding proxies a minimum of one (1) week prior to the scheduled Faculty Senate meeting or as soon as possible if an unexpected absence needs to occur.

- <u>Approval of the minutes of the March 26, 2020 meeting of the Faculty Senate</u>. <u>http://www.valdosta.edu/administration/faculty-senate/minutes.php</u> (See link here for minutes for all faculty senate meetings). – Dee Ott
- 4. Updates from President's Office: Dr. Carvajal and/or Dr. Smith

- 5. <u>Dining Services Information for faculty</u>: Diane Holliman
- 6. Old & Unfinished Business
 - a. Statutory Committee Reports
 - i. <u>Academic Committee</u> (<u>fs-stat-ac@valdosta.edu</u>) Sheri Gravett; Find agendas and minutes here:
 - https://www.valdosta.edu/academics/registrar/academic-committee.php
 - ii. <u>Committee on Committees (fs-stat-coco@valdosta.edu</u>) Peggy Moch
 - iii. Faculty Affairs (fs-stat-fa@valdosta.edu) Ryan Smith
 - iv. Faculty Grievance Committee (fs-stat-fgc@valdosta.edu) Mary Block
 - v. Institutional Planning Committee (fs-stat-ipc@valdosta.edu) Matt Roehrich
 - b. Meeting minutes from the various committees should be sent to <u>fsec@valdosta.edu</u> AND to <u>archives@valdosta.edu</u> with "Archives Faculty Senate Papers" in the subject line. Please label minute documents as shown in the following examples:
 - i. Technology_Minutes_04-29-2018
 - ii. Academic_Honors_and_Scholarship_Minutes_08-28-2018 Thank you for your assistance in getting and keeping our records up to date. ☺
- 7. New Business
 - a. Standing Committee Reports:
 - i. <u>Academic Honors & Scholarships (fs-stand-ahs@valdosta.edu</u>) Mark McQuade
 - ii. Academic Scheduling & Procedures (fs-stand-asp@valdosta.edu) Jose Velez
 - iii. <u>Athletic Committee (fs-stand-ac@valdosta.edu</u>) Katherine Adams
 - iv. Diversity and Equity Committee (fs-stand-dec@valdosta.edu) Charles Talor
 - v. Educational Policies (fs-stand-ep@valdosta.edu) Chunlei Liu
 - vi. Environmental Issues (fs-stand-ei@valdosta.edu) Evelyn Davis-Walker
 - vii. Faculty Scholarship (fs-stand-fs@valdosta.edu) Can Denizman
 - viii. Internationalization and Globalization (fs-stand-igc@valdosta.edu) Steve Kohn
 - ix. Library Affairs (fs-stand-la@valdosta.edu) Hanae Kanno
 - x. Student Affairs (fs-stand-sa@valdosta.edu) Sarah Arnett
 - xi. <u>Technology Committee</u> (<u>fs-stand-tc@valdosta.edu</u>) E-Ling Hsiao
- 8. <u>Election of faculty senate executive officers:</u> President-Elect, Secretary, Parliamentarian

A Qualtrics survey was sent with the following senators elected for the 2020-2021 executive committee:

President-Elect: Michele Blankenship

Secretary: Hoa Nguyen

Parliamentarian: Peggy Moch

- 9. General Discussion
- 10. Adjournment