The Happening on the VSU Front Lawn

Fall Explosion

Fall Explosion takes place every year during the first few weeks of the Fall Semester. It is a fun time packed full of exciting special events, cookouts, community service projects, and much more. It is an opportunity for students to meet and make new friends and learn more about getting involved on campus and in our community

2015 Fall Explosion Poster

Sunday, August 9

CPC / IFC Move-In  -  Brown Hall @ 8am - GREEK LIFE

Recruitment Cookout   -  Brown Hall @ 7pm - GREEK LIFE

 

Monday, August 10

IFC Recruitment Kick-Off  -  Student Union Theater @ 12 Noon - GREEK LIFE

CPC Recruitment Kick-Off  -  Student Union Ballrooms @ 4pm - GREEK LIFE

 

Tuesday, August 11

Freshman Move-In

CPC / IFC Service Event  -  VECA @ 9am - GREEK LIFE

Trivia Night  -  Student Union Ballrooms @ 3pm - RESIDENCE HALL ASSOCIATION (RHA)

 

Wednesday, August 12

Freshman Move-In

True Colors  -  Jennett Lecture Hall @ 9pm - HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE

Getting to Know You S’more  -  Georgia Hall Courtyard @ 6pm - RHA / CAMPUS RECREATION

 

Thursday, August 13

Speed-Friending  -  Student Union Theater Lobby @ 10am - 3pm  -  HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE

Rec Center Opens  -  Campus Rec Center @ 12pm  -  CAMPUS RECREATION

Late Night Pancakes  -  Palms Quad @ 6:45 - 9pm   -  RHA / STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION

 

Friday, August 14

Street Signs  -  Student Union Theater Lobby @ 1 - 5pm  -  RHA / CAMPUS ACTIVITIES BOARD

Human Scrabble  -  Student Union Ballrooms @ 3pm  -  HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE / LEADERSHIP PROGRAMS

“Two Small Pieces of Glass” Planetarium Shows  -  Nevins Hall 3004 @ 7pm/8pm/9pm  -  ASTRONOMY DEPARTMENT

 

Saturday, August 15

Volunteer Valdosta  -  Student Union Rotunda 2nd Floor @ 9am  -  STUDENT LIFE

Color Day  -  Front Lawn @ 1:30pm - 4:30pm  -  RESIDENCE HALL ASSOCIATION

 

Sunday, August 16

Find Your Classrooms  -  Academic Classrooms @ 3 - 5pm  -  CENTRALIZED ADVISING

 

Monday, August 17

Snow Cones  -  Student Union 1st Floor @ 11am - 2pm  -  CAMPUS RECREATION

Roommate Survival 101  -  Student Union Ballrooms @ 8am - 3pm  -  HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE

The Gathering  -  Palms Quad @ 4 - 5:30pm  -  RELIGIOUS & SPIRITUAL LIFE

Movie Night  -  Powell Hall Auditorium @ 7pm  -  NATURAL HIGH

 

Tuesday, August 18

Project Civility  -  Student Union Ballrooms B & C @ 5pm  -  STUDENT LIFE / CONDUCT OFFICE

Vintage Disney Movie  -  Student Union Theater @ 8 - 10:30pm  -  CAMPUS ACTIVITIES BOARD

 

Wednesday, August 19

The Encounter  -  Student Union 3rd Floor @ 11am - 2pm  -  CAREER OPPORTUNITIES

Greek Explosion  -  Palms Quad @ 4pm  -  GREEK LIFE

“Will They Make Fun of My Sheets” by James Robilotta  -  Student Union Ballrooms @ 7pm  -  HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE

 

Thursday, August 20

Walking Tacos  -  Student Union 2nd Floor Lobby @ 2 - 4pm  -  CAMPUS ACTIVITIES BOARD

Residence Hall Night at the Rec  -  Campus Rec @ 8 - 11pm  -  CAMPUS RECREATION

 

Friday, August 21

Mobile Skating Rink  -  Campus Rec Sun Deck @ 7 - 10pm  -  CAMPUS ACTIVITIES BOARD

 

Saturday, August 22

Free Game Room Night  -  Union Station @ 7 - 10pm  -  STUDENT LIFE

 

Sunday, August 23

Avengers 2 Movie  -  Student Union Theater @ 8pm CAMPUS  -  ACTIVITIES BOARD 

 

Monday, August 24

So...I Think It’s Time To Do Laundry  -  Residence Halls @ 6pm  -  HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE

Get Connected  -  Student Union Ballroom C @ 6pm  -  STUDENT LIFE

 

Tuesday, August 25

Self-Care 101  -  Student Union Meeting Room 1A @ 5:30 - 7pm  -  HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE

Karaoke  -  Powell Hall Auditorium @ 7pm  -  NATURAL HIGH

 

Wednesday, August 26

Two Truths & A Stereotype  -  Jennett Lecture Hall @ 9pm  -  HOUSING & RESIDENCE LIFE

Powder Puff Football  -  Rec Center Sports Complex @ 6pm  -  CAMPUS ACTIVITIES BOARD

 

Thursday, August 27

The Happening  -  Front Lawn @ 1 - 4pm  -  STUDENT LIFE

 

Saturday, August 29

Blazer Dash 5K & 1 Mile  -  Campus Rec @ 7am  -  CAMPUS RECREATION