Faculty and Staff

Shaun Ault

Shaun Ault

Assistant Professor, Math

Ph. D. in Mathematics
The Ohio State University

Research Interests
Algebraic Topology and Computational Mathematics

Phone  229-293-6305
svault@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1125


Pat Bezona

Pat Bezona

Professor Emerita - Adjunct Instructor, Math

Phone  229-333-5437
pbezona@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1119
Visit Website


David Boyd

David Boyd

Professor, Math/CS

Ph. D. in Mathematics
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Research Interests:
Commutative Ring Theory, Discrete Mathamatics

Phone  229-333-5788
dboyd@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2107
Visit Website


Sudip Chakraborty

Sudip Chakraborty

Associate Professor, CS

Ph. D. in Computer Science
Colorado State University

Research Interests
Security, Privacy, and Trust in ubiquitous, and cloud computing, Database security

Phone  229-219-1341
schakraborty@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1210
Visit Website


Haiquan Chen

Haiquan Chen

Assistant Professor, CS

Ph. D. in Computer Science and Software Engineering
Auburn University

Research Interests
Databases and Information Systems with emphasis on Data Mining, Location-Based Services, and Information Retrieval

Phone  229-333-7596
hachen@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2205
Visit Website


Ivan Elstak

Ivan Elstak

Assistant Professor, Math Ed

Ph. D. in Mathematical Education
The Ohio State University

Phone  229-333-7414
irelstak@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2063


Said Fares

Assistant Professor, CS

Phone  229-333-5780
sfares@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1126
Visit Website


Dave Gibson

Dave Gibson

Professor, Math/CS

Ph. D. in Industrial & Systems Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology

Phone  229-333-7151
dgibson@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1128
Visit Website


Sudhir Goel

Professor, Math

Phone  229-333-7157
sgoel@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2112


Greg Harrell

Greg Harrell

Professor and Department Head, Math/Math Ed

Phone  229-333-5778
gharrell@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2072
Visit Website


Chuck Kicey

Professor, Math

Phone  229-293-6272
ckicey@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1112
Visit Website


Ashok Kumar

Ashok Kumar

Professor, Math

Ph.D. in Mathematics
Bowling Green State University

Phone  229-259-2042
akumar@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2208
Visit Website


Andreas Lazari

Andreas Lazari

Professor, Math

Phone  229-333-7154
alazari@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2214
Visit Website


Chunlei Liu

Chunlei Liu

Associate Professor, CS

Ph. D. in Computer and Information Science
The Ohio State University

Research Interests
Computer Networks and Scientific Computing

Phone  229-333-5781
cliu@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2066
Visit Website


Jason Loew

Jason Loew

Assistant Professor, CS

Ph.D. in Computer Science
State University of New York at Binghamton

Phone  229-333-5495
jloew@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2209


Peggy Moch

Peggy Moch

Professor, Math Ed

Ph. D. in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Mathematics Education
University of Central Florida

Research Interests
Mathematics anxiety, Mathematics teacher self-efficacy, Motivational theory, Cross-Curricular STEM research, Community Outreach

Phone  229-333-5785
plmoch@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2123
Visit Website


Jemal Mohammed-Awel

Jemal Mohammed-Awel

Associate Professor, Math/CS

Ph. D. in Mathematics
University of New York at Buffalo

Research Interests:
Mathematical Biology, Applied Mathematics, and Analysis

Phone  229-333-5326
jmohammedawel@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2065
Visit Website


Denise Reid

Denise Reid

Professor, Math/Math Ed

Phone  229-333-5784
dtreid@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1212
Visit Website


Krishnendu Roy

Krishnendu Roy

Assistant Professor, CS

Ph. D. in Computer Engineering
Louisiana State University

Research Interests
Reconfigurable Computing, Distributed Algorithms, Computer Science Education and Outreach

Phone  229-259-2041
kroy@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2071
Visit Website


Sandy Trowell

Sandy Trowell

Assistant Professor, Math Ed

Ph. D. in Mathematics Education
Florida State University

Research Interests:
Mathematics learning, proportional reasoning, mathematics classroom norms

Phone  229-333-5778
strowell@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1130


Jose Velez-Marulanda

Jose Velez-Marulanda

Assistant Professor, Math

Ph. D. in Mathematics
University of Iowa

Research Interests
Representation Theory of Finite Dimensional Algebras and Elementary Number Theory

Phone  229-333-7449
javelezmarulanda@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2212
Visit Website


Jin Wang

Jin Wang

Professor, Math


Arsalan Wares

Arsalan Wares

Professor, Math

Phone  229-333-5787
awares@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1214


Ben Wescoatt

Ben Wescoatt

Assistant Professor, Math Ed

Ph. D. in Mathematics, specialization in Mathematic Education
Oklahoma State University

Research Interests:
Research in Undergraduate Mathematics Education

Phone  229-333-5468
bmwescoatt@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2064


Zhiguang Xu

Zhiguang Xu

Professor, CS

Ph. D. in Computer Science
University of Central Florida

Research Interests:
Computer Networking, AI, Parallel Computing, CS Education


Vickie Graham

Vickie Graham

Lecturer, Math

M.A. in Mathematics
Georgia State University

Phone  229-333-5341
vgraham@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1116
Visit Website


Janice Lowe

Janice Lowe

Lecturer, Math

Phone  229-293-6273
jflowe@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1117
Visit Website


Patti Barrett

Patti Barrett

Instructor, Math

Ed.S. in Secondary Math
Georgia Southern University

Phone  229-249-2610
pwbarrett@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2116


Patricia Cook

Patricia Cook

Instructor, Math

Phone  229-333-5782
plcook@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2120


John Corbett

John Corbett

Instructor, Math

Phone  229-333-5789
jwcorbett@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2108


Poulomi Ghatak

Poulomi Ghatak

Instructor, Math

Phone  229-333-5687
pghatak@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1215


Anna Lane

Anna Lane

Instructor, Math

Phone  229-249-2696
avlane@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2114


Guifen Mao

Guifen Mao

Instructor, Math

Phone  229-333-5327
gmao@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1111


Ernestine McCall

Ernestine McCall

Instructor, Math

Ed. S. in Secondary Math
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-5311
esmccall@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2207


John Seppala

Instructor, Math

M.S. in Statistics
University of Florida

Phone  229-259-2072
rjseppal@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2069
Visit Website


Caleb Thomas

Instructor, Math

Phone  229-259-2043
calthomas@valdosta.edu
Nevins 1127


Brenda Morgan

Brenda Morgan

Instructor, Math

Ed.S in Secondary Math


Phone  229-333-5778
bwmorgan@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2118


Fred Schifando

Part-Time Instructor, Math

Phone  229-333-5778
fschifando@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2119


Charles Ward

Part-Time Instrcutor, Math

Phone  229-293-6247
caward@valdosta.edu
2203 UC


Megan Slator

Senior Secretary

Phone  229-333-5778
meslator@valdosta.edu
Nevins 2072


Name Title Phone E-mail
Mary Kay Corbitt Professor Emerita
Randall Hicks Professor Emeritus
Caroline Hollingsworth Professor Emerita talbot483@gmail.com
Roger Lamprey Professor Emeritus
Bob Moore Professor Emeritus rcmoore4@bellsouth.net
Mylan Redfern Professor Emerita
John M Samaras Professor Emeritus jsamaras@valdosta.edu
John Schleusner Professor Emeritus jschleus@valdosta.edu
Kathy Simons Professor Emerita ksimons@valdosta.edu
John Wood Professor Emeritus jpwood@valdosta.edu