Faculty and Staff

Dr. John Barbas

Dr. John Barbas

Professor, Organic Chemistry

B.S.
Bob Jones University

Ph.D.
University of Georgia

Phone  229-333-5803
jbarbas@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3079


Dr. Jim Baxter

Dr. Jim Baxter

Head, Department of Chemistry, Organic Chemistry

B.S.
Valdosta State University

M.S.
Georgia Institute of Technology

Ph.D.
Georgia Institute of Technology

Phone  229-333-5801
jbaxter@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3023


Dr. Dean Duncan

Dr. Dean Duncan

Assistant Professor, Physical / Inorganic Chemistry

B.S.
College of Charleston

Ph.D.
Emory University

Phone  229-333-7391
dcduncan@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3082


Dr. Alexandrina L. Focsan

Dr. Alexandrina L. Focsan

Associate Professor, Physical Chemistry

B.S.
Babes Bolyai University

Ph. D.
The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa

Phone  229-245-6596
alfocsan@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3084


Dr. Linda de la Garza

Dr. Linda de la Garza

Associate Professor, Electrochemistry

B.S.
Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey

Ph.D.
Arizona State University

Phone  229-333-5340
ldelagarza@valdosta.edu
Bailely Science Bldg. # 3080
Visit Website


Dr. Donna Gosnell

Dr. Donna Gosnell

Associate Professor, Biochemistry and Physical Chemistry

B.S.
Penn. State

M.S.
University of California - San Diego

Ph.D.
University of California - San Diego

Phone  229-249-4934
dgosnell@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3074
Visit Website


Dr. Arthur Jonas

Dr. Arthur Jonas

Instructor, Chemistry

B.S.
Marion College

M.B.A.
Xavier University

Ph.D.
University of Tenn., Knoxville

Phone  229-249-4839
aejonas@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 2216


Dr. Thomas Manning

Dr. Thomas Manning

Professor, Analytical and Physical Chemistry

B.S.
College of Charleston

M.S.
University of Florida

Ph.D.
University of Florida

Phone  229-333-7178
tmanning@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3076
Visit Website


Dr. Tolulope Salami

Dr. Tolulope Salami

Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

B.S.
University of Ibadan, Ibadan Nigeria

M.S.
University of Ibadan, Ibadan Nigeria

M.S.
Greenwich University, England

Ph.D.
State University of New York at Binghamton

Phone  229-333-5816
tosalami@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3081
Visit Website


Dr. Jenny Vu

Dr. Jenny Vu

Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry

B.S.
Valdosta State University

M.S.
Florida State University

M. Phil.
Columbia University

Ph.D.
Columbia University

Phone  229-333-5802
jbvu@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3083


Dr. Yakov Woldman

Dr. Yakov Woldman

Associate Professor, Chemistry

B.S.
Novosibirsk State University

M.S.
Novosibirsk State University

Ph.D.
Novosibirsk Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry

Phone  229-333-5452
ywoldman@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3075


Dr. Gary L. Wood

Dr. Gary L. Wood

Professor, Inorganic Chemistry

B.S.
Texas Tech University

M.S.
University of New Mexico

Ph.D.
University of New Mexico

Phone  229-333-5458
lwood@valdosta.edu
Bailey Science Bldg. # 3073


NameTitlePhoneE-mail
Melissa NolleySenior Secretary, Chemistry Department229-333-5798mdmoore@valdosta.edu